174 Following

JL's Bibliomania

Also on GoodReads as J L's Bibliomania:


and Litsy @jlsbibliomania


While my first love was SF, I read widely in YA, urban fantasy, police procedurals,  middle-grade, and non-fiction. 




The Crystal Cave - Section The Last

The Crystal Cave - Mary Stewart

The Crystal Cave Book 5 - The Coming of the Bear covers the period between the death of Ambrosius and the conception of Arthur.  Better paced than the sections covering Merlin’s youth, the end of the book wasn’t as strong as the section relating the conquest of Britain by Ambrosius.


It is over 20 years since I first read The Crystal Cave, and my sense of the book has diminished because of the reread.  While I am glad to have joined the buddy read, The Crystal Cave just didn’t hold up to the changing of writing sensibilities.  I will not be continuing with Mary Stewart’s Arthurians at this point.



And thus finishes Task the Twelfth: The Wassail Bowl - Read a book set in the UK, preferably during the medieval or Victorian periods